2/15/09: Valentine’s Day, New Hair, and Ongoing Gluttony

Dear Dick Wolf:

I hope you’re having a good weekend. Did you do anything special for Valentine’s Day? Maybe you don’t celebrate it. I don’t blame you if you don’t. I’ve never been big on V-Day myself. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not down on love or anything, but it seems more hassle than it’s worth. Chocolates, cards, flowers, trying to get a reservation on probably the busiest dining night of the year…Too much pressure. Too many opportunities for a well-meaning man to screw up and disappoint his lady.

valentines_day1

That said, I managed to have a great Valentine’s Day! I ran into a friend as I was leaving my weekend gig and we had a spontaneous outing at Morton’s in Burbank. LOVE Morton’s. In fact, my favorite dinner date took place at a Morton’s, in Portland. About 10 years ago. My buddy Jim, my friend Lana, a fella I was dating and I ate like mad pigs there. Swordfish, steak, lobster…and the best wine I’ve ever tasted – Duckhorn Merlot. We had a bottle. We got a little tipsy. So, when dessert came, we decided to eat the centerpiece along with it. Hot chocolate cake on top of rose petals. It sounds romantic, but it was really just a bunch of grown people acting like children.

Anyway, Morton’s last night was a nice treat. And I used my manners.

In other news: I CUT MY HAIR. Short. Well, short for me. It’s above my shoulders. I haven’t had it this short since junior high. I don’t know what possessed me to chop it off, but I’m not ruling out a midlife crisis. I must admit,  though – I LOVE IT. I should have done this years ago. It’s so low-main and funky…And the best part? The haircut was FREE! I’d filled up my Supercuts punch card, so I traded it in. YAY! Yes, I realize this means I need new headshots. I’ll get them as soon as I can. I just wanted to let you know, because I look VERY courtroom chic now. You should bring me in for an audition.

Oh, FYI: Engineer Jason made good on his bet. He brought pie for the office, since I won the Bleunami Challenge last week. It was tasty – pecan. So, yes, our office continues to be a den of gluttony.

Well, that’s it for now. We have the day off tomorrow, so I’m going to drink lots of wine tonight and catch up on the many episodes of Criminal Intent that are clogging up my DVR. In other words – a perfect evening.

Take care. Let’s chat soon.

Amen.

Published in: on February 15, 2009 at 6:37 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deardickwolf.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/21509-valentines-day-new-hair-and-ongoing-gluttony/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

