11/27/08: My Excuse

Dear Dick Wolf:

For starters…Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope you’re having a wonderful time with your family, friends and/or other. I am home alone today (cue the violins). I was going to spend the holiday at my aunt and uncle’s house, but I was awakened at 5:30 this morning by a projectile-pooping cat. Projectile as in – it landed on my dresser, my bookcase, my bedspread, all over the dining room/bathroom/living room floors, and in the entryway. Nice, huh? I hope you finished your pumpkin pie before reading this…So, after spending the better part of the morning scrubbing and disinfecting, I opted to stay home and look after her. Make sure she didn’t blanket the house again. I’m hoping it’s a one-off, but she had a similar problem about a year ago. Parasites. I’ve given her some medicine. So far there hasn’t been a repeat, but it’s only Day One. Keep your fingers crossed.

So, the reason I haven’t been in touch for over two weeks is that I’ve been working on my website. I have an online thrift store called Hollywood Vintage Rags & Bags. This is my logo:

hvblacksmall1

Wow, that came out a bit bigger than I expected.

Anyway, I launched the business last year. My friend Gina Contreras designed the old website. She did an AMAZING job with it. So amazing, in fact, that I couldn’t quite wrap my head around managing it myself. Photoshop, Dreamweaver…these are programs that do not compute. So, I did a redesign using a template for the website-challenged. And – drum-roll, please – the new website has LAUNCHED!

Check it out: www.HollywoodVintage.la

Here’s the deal: I hit the thrift stores in the Hollywood area, comb through racks of undesirables, looking for the occasional gems. Then, I gather said gems together, and sell them all in one convenient place – ONLINE! And since the clothes are Hollywood cast-offs, you never know who may have owned them first! Did I stumble upon Brad Pitt’s old shirt? Reese Witherspoon’s discarded handbag? Dick Wolf’s necktie?! It’s certainly possible!

Oh, and 10% of all sales are donated to the USO. They do great things for our men and women overseas. In no way will this small gesture repay what our troops have sacrificed for me…for us…but hopefully it’ll help.

So, check out the store! If you find something you like, I’m willing to do trade for resume credits.

Thank you. Amen.

Published in: on November 27, 2008 at 8:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deardickwolf.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/112708-my-excuse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

