11/4/08: A Day For the History Books

Dear Dick Wolf:

Happy Election Day!!

flag

I’m up early to hit my polling place before work. An elementary school down the street. Can’t wait to get my “I voted” sticker!

That’s all for now. Gotta go get my cat outta the tub so I can shower.

Enjoy your vote!

XOXO,
Gina

7:32 a.m.

I break out the foundation. I do this maybe twice a year. Today is special.

foundation

8:09 a.m.

100 feet from the polling place, where he’s legally supposed to be, I’m handed a “No on 8” postcard by a man who simply wants equal rights. He asks for my vote. I tell him, “Absolutely!” I tuck the postcard into my sample ballot, walk away, and get misty-eyed for the first time today.

no8

8:11 a.m.

I walk into my polling place – Riverside Dr. Elementary School, Sherman Oaks. It’s not as packed as I thought it would be, but still busy.

poll

I stand in line for about 10 minutes before I’m handed my ballot. That sets off the water works. I make my way to the voting booth, trying to keep it together. I cast my votes. I filled out my sample ballot ahead of time so it didn’t take long, but I linger in the booth, taking in this historic moment. I take my ballot to the ballot guy (who I’m sure has some official title of which I’m unaware). He tears off my receipt and hands it to me.

ballot

He asks me to feed my ballot into the machine, which I do enthusiastically. It registers – woo-hoo! I get my glorious “I voted” sticker and leave.

8:25 a.m.

I arrive at work early, call mom to tell her I voted. She’s a Canadian citizen so she can’t vote. It’s OK, I split mine with her.

8:58 a.m.

Coworkers start rolling in. Many have already voted, too. Jason’s wearing a tie. Like I said, it’s a special day. Christina and I voted for the same person. 😉

voted

I think this guy voted for him, too:

obama-votes1

1:01 p.m.

I have decided that if Obama wins tonight, I’m cutting my bangs – after 15 years. It may not be the change the country has in mind, but it’ll be pretty major in my little corner.

3:02 p.m.

drudge

Even more satisfying that it’s coming from Drudge.

5:36 p.m.

I’m dying. I can’t concentrate.

results

5:40 p.m.

Pennsylvania!

6:20 p.m.

OHIO!!!!!! AARRGGHH!! YES!!!!

8:03 p.m.

yes

YES. WE. DID.

YES. WE. CAN.

YES. WE. WILL!!!

 

Published in: on November 4, 2008 at 7:10 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deardickwolf.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/11408-a-day-for-the-history-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

