9/27/08: A Sad, Sad Day For Hollywood

I imagine most of us have shed tears over the death of someone famous. We may not have known these people privately, but they became part of our world, part of our lives, and it’s sad when they leave. I’ve shed many tears. But there have been only a handful of notable people whose deaths truly gutted me:

* Chris LeDoux
* Marlon Brando
* Katharine Hepburn
* Heath Ledger
* Princess Diana
* Peter Jennings

Today, there’s another person on that list.

Paul Newman has died.

We knew it was coming, but that doesn’t make it any less devastating. He was a screen legend. An icon. An Oscar-winner. A devoted husband and father. A philanthropist. And as any woman with a pulse (and half the men in this town) will attest to – a classic dreamboat.

I’m heartbroken. Like many people, I imagine. He was wonderful on so many levels. But beyond being an inspirational human being, he was a legend in this industry I’ve loved so much my entire life. And with his death, it’s as if part of Hollywood has died with him.

I can’t fathom how Joanne Woodward must feel today. They just celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary this year. Imagine spending half a century with the same person, and then one day, he’s just not there anymore. It kills me. I remember watching the televised funeral service for Ronald Reagan. When Nancy laid her head on his casket, it was the saddest moment I had ever seen. They’d been married for 52 years. I ached for her. And I ache to think that’s what Ms. Woodward is dealing with today. My prayers go out to her and their family.

Goodbye, Mr. Newman. You were a class act. May your soul rest in peace until your next great adventure.

Paul Newman says goodbye… 

Published in: on September 27, 2008 at 1:56 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deardickwolf.wordpress.com/2008/09/27/92708-a-sad-sad-day-for-hollywood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen – what a class act. And when I saw him play the narrator in “Our Town” for a TV-movie version a couple of years ago, I realized that it is, in fact, possible for an octogenarian to be sexy!
    Paige

  2. He was a truly human human-being. That is the highest praise I could give anyone.

  3. Thank you, ladies. He was special indeed. Sally Field said it best: “Sometimes God makes perfect people and Paul Newman was one of them.”

    And yes, a heartthrob until the end!

    XOXO

  4. Nice tribute to Paul Newman Gina. Great actor, great human being, and what a legacy he leaves.


Leave a Reply

