5/16/08: Casey’s Out?! That’s My Gig!

So I finally watched the season finale of SVU after I got home from class last night. New guy Lake (Adam Beach) killed someone in cold blood at the end (granted, the victim was a crooked cop rapist and I didn’t exactly bust a tear) and got hauled off…Casey (Diane Neal) lied about some DNA evidence and is being suspended indefinitely…and Fin (Ice T, yo) put in for a transfer because Elliot pissed him off one time too many. I thought, what the hell?! Are they cutting my frien…uh, the actors? So I googled and found this:

Adam Beach is departing NBC’s crime drama “Law & Order: SVU” at the end of the season.

Beach joined Dick Wolf’s crime drama last fall under a one-year deal, which had an option for a second. The two sides have decided not to exercise the option.

“I very much enjoyed my year on ‘Law & Order: SVU’,” Beach said. “Now I’m looking forward to new adventures.”

Beach’s departure follows the news that another regular on the show, veteran Diane Neal, also is exiting the series. She reportedly told crew members that she was fired, according to TVGuide.com

Um – hello?! This article is about a month old, where have I been?! I was understandably DEVASTATED. I mean, how could Dick Wolf betray me like this after my OCD-votion?!

Then I found this:

…reprising (Neal’s) character doesn’t seem to be an option as the search for a new A.D.A. is already underway. Word on the street is that show creator Dick Wolf is looking to fill the void with a new comer.

And suddenly, all was right in the land…THAT’S MY GIG!!!

Look, Diane, I’ve made no secret of the fact that if I could have any role on television, it would be yours. I think you’re swell, but let’s be honest – you’ve had a good run. It’s time to stop hogging the spotlight. Time to pass the torch. Move on. No doubt you’ve got a great agent now, plenty of opportunities. So buck up, pop a Paxil and brush up on those cold reading skills. You’ll be fine. Besides, didn’t you have a cameo in the movie Hairspray? I could swear you were one of the dancers trying out for the Corny Collins Show. If not, be warned – you have a doppelganger. And she’s getting work.

Dear Mr. Wolf:

The transition is easy.

Before:

After:

I used to watch Judith Light on One Life to Live, if that makes any difference.

Oh, and if you could ask your writers to work in a romantic story line with Stabler, that would be groovy.

Thank you. Amen.

Published in: on May 16, 2008 at 10:27 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deardickwolf.wordpress.com/2008/05/16/51608-caseys-out-thats-my-gig/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

